Forgive Me Father For I Have Sinned, It Being One Nutrageous Bar Since My Last Confession…

“I am not an angel,' I asserted; 'and I will not be one till I die: I will be myself. Mr. Rochester, you must neither expect nor exact anything celestial of me - for you will not get it, any more than I shall get it of you: which I do not at all anticipate.” - Jane Eyre

The following is a list of politically incorrect things I have eaten lately:

Nutrageous Bar

Can of Root Beer

Conventionally farmed chicken

Frosty Fruit (Nestle)

Nescafe Blend 43

I am transitioning from an asshole to a legend…

 

Tuna Auction Tsukiji

I don’t have any interviews this week because I am busy reading:

TUNA – A LOVE STORY by Richard Ellis 2008

I am only one chapter in but the topic is interesting and the writing incredible.

“Catching fish to feed fish is an ecologically unsound concept, but tuna are carnivores (more accurately, piscivores), and they would not eat food made from grain.”

“In his 1996 book Tuna and the Japanese, Takeaki Hori claims that the idea for “tuna ranching” originated with a Japanese tuna auctioneer named Hideo Hirahara, who went to Australia to find people to catch tuna and put them in some sort of “fish tank”, where they would be fattened for three to six months, killed, frozen, and shipped to Japan.”

“Because they have never been frozen, these thirty-hour fish are probably the most desirable at the Tsukiji tuna auctions, but even frozen fish from Port Lincoln’s tuna farms, pampered and virtually hand-fed, also demand particularly high prices. So far the record price for a single fish at the Tsujiki tuna auctions is $173 000”

 

The book mentions a doco from 2004 called Tuna Cowboys that I am keen to get my mitts on. I will write a full review soon. Stay tuna-ed.

 

Leave a Reply

